To what extent does “virtual reunification” allow voices to fill a silence?

This question came up as I was clearing out from my inbox the SAA “word of the week” emails that have piled up. Here’s the post, which has links the uses of the word, which could provide examples–although examples are legion among “digital archives.”

There’s something to this question, I think. I mean, of course, the answer is that of course bringing things together so that they are more easily examined as a group can allow for new understanding. So, can it help disparate, isolated voices come together to fill a silence? Sure it can. Again, I think this topic has the potential to expand into a really interesting way of looking at the mission of archives today, so I’m glad I’m finally getting off my ass to tackle it. And I think having this blog as a tool for thinking out loud is helpful too, as a way of annotating my notes.

To what extent does “virtual reunification” allow voices to fill a silence?

Leave a Reply

